The Master Cleanse

master-cleanse.jpg

I have chosen to do a 10 day Master Cleanse. The last time that I did a cleanse/fast I felt like a drug addict going through detox. You guys know me! My life revolves around food and bevies!

For my last day with solid food I spent it in Napa visiting wineries, lunched at Market in St Helena (tuna tartar that was almost inedible because of the amount of soy sauce, but I was starving so I ate it anyway), and then steak tartar at Bistro Jeanty as an afternoon snack. I finished the day with a beer butt chicken that my fiancé and I made together then the Smooth Move tea that would mark the beginning of what I hope to be a very successful fast. I will be updating this daily and letting you know about my progress.

End of Day 1  

     The cravings are there for sure. I drifted off to a nap thinking about prawns and cocktail sauce, and I have been thinking about yummy chewy carbs for most of the day. There was also some good news about a job that I am one step closer to getting and my fiancé’s first reaction was offering to take me out to dinner to celebrate. “I’m not eating you donkey!” “Oh, that’s right.” Which is exactly why I chose to do this while he will be out of town for the majority of the time. 

    I spent about an hour at the gym, 5 minutes on the treadmill at a serious climb, 6 sets on the weight machines, and 30 minutes on the elliptical. I burned over 300 calories which is just over the amount in the 6 glasses of “lemonade” that I consumed.    

  The salt water flush has been the worst part so far. I tried it cold because experience dictates that you can taste less the colder it is, but I don’t think that is the case with salt. And it is an extreme amount of liquid. Timing the flush is the most inconvenient though. Too much information yet? I’m off to enjoy consume a cup of Smooth Move and a movie.

Days 2 and 3

Do NOT, I repeat, DO NOT be around people with food while you are doing this! I thought I could hang when my parents wanted to take Damon and I out to dinner and I just ended up resenting them and chewing on the inside of my cheeks. (I think this is where the hallowed look comes from.) I had a dull headache all of day two and a worse one on day three. I ended up cheating on day three when I was to cater a party for 7 hours and I did not feel like I was going to be able to give it my all if I did not have something in my stomach. Although it made me nauseous afterward, I think I performed better than if I had not. Still loving the flavor of the lemonade and the tea isn’t bad either. I calculated that it takes 48 swallows from the straw to get through the salt water flush. Weee!

Days 4 and 5

I had to interview people for almost seven hours on day 4 and by the end I thought I was going to fall out of my chair. Good news is that there was little temptation during the day. However, all I could think about on the drive home was the three red chard raviolis that were left over from that torturous dinner on day 2. I decided I would allow myself one, heated, cut into small bits and savor every moment of it. Scratch that. I opened the black Styrofoam container and ate one straight out of the fridge. Besides the guilt and nausea, I felt much better. I did however have a headache bordering on a migraine that night but it was gone by morning.

So far so good for day 5. I decided to turn this into a little pampering time as well. Facials every third day, teeth whitening strips, and a massage. I still want to come out of this with great results. I may just end up at the gym!

The Rest of it

So I didn’t do so good maintaining the online diary of my fast, and honestly when it is all said and done, I probably didn’t so well on the fast. But I think that I did as well as I could under the circumstances. This is not something that you want to take on if you have to be around food all day and on your feet for 8 hours. I would be fatigued, irritable, and unable to think straight by the afternoon, and that wasn’t fair to anyone that I worked with or for.

I was able to make it to the gym a few more times, and I have noticed some weight loss. My chiropractor commented on my complexion, hair, and noticeable weight loss when I saw him yesterday too.

 So I broke the fast yesterday, I ate minimally, but enjoyed every single bite. Shanghai dumplings made me swoon, and the textures of sesame lotus pastries became an amazing experience. Although, when I had a glass of wine, I almost felt like I was slightly breaking out in hives. I began to itch and had small bumps on my body that have since gone away. My spirits and energy are high, and although I am not excited about enduring this again, the next time I attempt it I should be in a steady environment almost completely devoid of food, which will  make it easier for me to succeed. I will post how much weight I have lost as soon as I have access to a scale.

Leave a Reply

