What’s the deal with…Blue Nun?

blue-nun-cauliflower-etc-001.jpgSince my move to Napa Valley when I was 18 I have been in love with wine. I have studied it, appreciated it, analyzed it, and consumed my fair share of it. So why are certain wines looked at as an inside joke that I have never been a part of? These specific wines found their way into multiple lectures where everyone would laugh in unison and I was always left confused and out of the loop.

Well no more! It took a lot of searching and inquiring but I have landed some of the society’s premiere laughable wines! After the sommelier exam I decided to start a journey to explore these wines, I too wanted to be able to laugh among the wine snobs, even if it cost me valuable palate time.

We’re going to start the journey with Blue Nun, a Riesling from Germany that is thin and sweet, and one dimensional. Oh, and about 6.99 at your local BevMo. According to someone in their early 50’s, now an avid Merlot drinker, it was the bottle you bought to impress a lady. About 30 years ago. LPR? Not with an alcohol content of around 10%, but I’d love to hear stories of how a lifetime of happiness began over a bottle of this and whether or not glasses were bothered with!

2 Responses to “What’s the deal with…Blue Nun?”

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptSince my move to Napa Valley when I was 18 I have been in love with wine. I have studied it, appreciated it, analyzed it, and consumed my fair share of it. So why are certain wines looked at as an inside joke that I have never been a … […]

  2. […] I’m here and I am going to go through with this! It can’t possibly be as ridiculous as Blue Nun or Cold […]

Leave a Reply

