Theo Dog Treat Recipe

pc020042Well that whole month of Theobromine thing didn’t work out as well as I had planned. Instead of hunkering down and finishing my proposal, practicing chocolate recipes, and writing, I spent all of my time at the dog park, Pet Smart, the vet, picking up remnants of stuffed animals he was told distinctly to “Love, not Eat”, and watching my savings account disappear at a rate faster than when I owned a lemon.

At any rate I love the little (did I mention he gained 12 pounds in the first 6 weeks that we owned him?) bastard. He makes me smile, gets me out of the house, and lets me dress him up. Best of all he knows to stay out of the kitchen. And thus his first homemade treat, made just for him. I do think my husband snuck one though.

Dog Treats

2 c Whole Wheat Flour

1T Baking Soda

1 c Unsalted Natural Peanut Butter

1 c Skim Milk

Preheat oven to 375. Grease sheet pan or use parchment or Silpat.

Start with the peanut butter in a mixer and slowly add milk, stir in flour and baking soda and mix until well combined. Roll out to 1/4 inch thickness on floured surface and cut into desired shapes. Cookies will expand slightly so space  at least an inch apart.

Bake for 20 minutes or until slightly golden on the bottom.

Let cool and make dog sit. Insert into smiling mouth.

pc010021

Leave a Reply

